Towns in Cyprus

The capital of Cyprus is Lefkosia (Nicosia) with a population of 208.900. It is situated roughly in the middle of the island and is the seat of the government as well as being the main business center. Lefkosia has the unwelcome distinction of being the only divided capital city in the world. Since the Turkish invasion of 1974 its northern part is under occupation and is separated from the south by a United Nations patrolled buffer zone.

The second biggest town on the island is the main commercial port of Lemesos (Limassol) in the south of the island, also a popular tourist resort, which has a population of 163.900.

The coastal town of Larnaka in the south-east has a population of 73.200 and is the island’s second commercial port and also an important tourist resort. To the south of the town is situated Larnaka's International Airport.

Pafos in the south-west with a population of 48.300 is a fast developing tourist resort and home to the island’s second International Airport.

In the Turkish occupied area, Ammochostos (Famagusta) in the eastern part of the island was the centre of the pre-1974 tourist industry. Other main towns which are also under Turkish occupation are Moro in the north-west and Keryneia in the north.

Source: Press And Information Office, Republic Of Cyprus, 2005